KOU Council and Head of Departments had an Online Video Conference on e-Learning at the University

KOU Council; Koya UniversityToday, Sunday 29/03/2020, the Koya University Council, Head of Departments, Director of Quality Assurance and the Director of IT (35 staff) had an online video conference (meeting) for about 2 hrs (11:00 am - 01:00 pm). The video conference was about the e-learning at KOU and the e-infrastructure that available for the academics and students. The Meeting was directed by Dr. Wali Hamad, the president of KOU.

Dr. Wali explained the recent situation of KOU and the Higher Eduction in Kurdistan due to the coronavirus pandamic breakout.Dr. Haidar Lashkry, the V.P. of KOU, explained the strategy of KOU during the next few months and how the University can be in touch with students via the e-learning. Prof. Salah I.Yahya, the Director of Quality Assurance presented the KOU readiness and the technical solutions that KOU can follow to achive the e-Learning. The Deans, Dr. Mohammed Haseeb, Dr. Bawadeen Kareem and Dr. Taha Jalal had important inputs to the meeting. All vice deans with head of the schools and departments who prticipated the meeting explained their department capcities for the online engagement with the students.

Names of Vice Deans, Head of Schools and Head of Departments who participated the meeting

# Full Name Faculty/College Department Position
1 Galawezh Bakr Bapir Engineering DGEN Vice Dean
2 Mazin Jalal Ahmed Humanities and Social Science DLAW Vice Dean
3 Dawan Jamal Owayez Hawezy School of Medicine SMED Head of School
4 Zana Mahammad Mahammad School of Physical Education SPHE Head of School
5 Abdulqader Othman Hamad Ameen Science and Health DMAT Head of Dept.
6 Ahmed Abdulazeez Mohammed Education DENL Head of Dept.
7 Ari Anuar Zubar Alabasi School of Basic Education SPHE Head of Dept.
8 Ayad Hazim Hasan Science and Health DMEM Head of Dept.
9 Azad Atoof Alsaati Engineering DARE Head of Dept.
10 Bestun Jumaa Nareeman Shwan Engineering DGEN Head of Dept.
11 Hawzhen Slewa Essa Education DKUR Head of Dept.
12 Hemin Azez Braim Education DRLE Head of Dept.
13 Hiwa Ramadhan Fatah Science and Health DBIO Head of Dept.
14 Jabar Ahmed Abdulrahman Science and Health DCPS Head of Dept.
15 Kawa Ali Al-dawody Education DEPS Head of Dept.
16 Layth Hazeem Mahmood Education DARB Head of Dept.
17 Mahdi Usman Hussain Education DHIS Head of Dept.
18 Mohammed Faeq Mohammed Sabri Science and Health DPHY Head of Dept.
19 Nali Jawad Hamad Education DGEO Head of Dept.
20 Peshawa Jammal Muhammad Ali Engineering DSWE Head of Dept.
21 Pshtiwan Tahsin Mohammed Jaf Engineering DPTE Head of Dept.
22 Rebwar Jabbar Shaikhah Humanities and Social Science DLAW Head of Dept.
23 Ribwar Kermanj Abdulrahman Engineering DCHE Head of Dept.
24 Sakar Amir Abdulkarem Humanities and Social Science DLAW Head of Dept.
25 Shameran Jamal Salih Salihy Science and Health DCHM Head of Dept.
26 Sheelan Abdulwahid Ahmed Engineering DCEN Head of Dept.
27 Vian Sulaiman Hama Saeed Humanities and Social Science DACC Head of Dept.
28 Zahid Omar Mustafa Engineering DMFE Head of Dept.
29 Luqman Weso Omer Education DGEO Director



Koya University; Video Conference; e-Learning



Koya University (KOU) is located in the city of Koya (Koy Sanjaq) which is 1.0 hr drive to the East of the Kurdistan Region capital Erbil (Arbil, Hewlér) in Kurdistan Region of F.R. Iraq. It is on the foothills of beautiful high mountain. Its campus has been carefully laid out to embrace the beautiful mountainous nature. . There are 4 Faculties and 2 Schools in KOU; Faculty of Engineering (FENG), Faculty of Science and Health (FSCH), Faculty of Education (FEDU), Faculty of Humanities and Social Silences (FHSS), Shcool of Physical Education (SPHE) and School of Medicine (SMED). Also, there are two research centers; Genome Center and Malai Gawra Center. Moreover, at KOU there is an English Language Center (BELC) at KOU has been opened with the sponsorship of IREX and American embassy in Baghdad as well as with the support of Spring International Language Center of The University of ArkansasKOU has two Scientific Journals; ARO-The Scientific Journal of Koya University, which is indexed by Clarivate Analytics (ESCI), and Koya University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences (KUJHSS). KOU is a proactive member of Erasmus/ Marhaba Project and Erasmus+. KOU signed many Memorandum of Understandings (MoU) with many International Universities, e.g., The University of Arkansas (June 2015). The Lulea University in Sweden (April 2014), The University of Nottingham in the UKThe University of Buckingham in the UK (Oct 2008), Belkin University in Turkey (Sep 2009) and The University of Greenwich in the UK.


Masters by a combination of research and coursework or by pure research in PhD level. (read more)

Knowledge Transfer is our main stream principal way to communicate in and outside our academic community (read more)

With 4 faculties and 25 departments in different fields we aiming to become a centre of excellence. Join us...