KOU Participated the Meeting of the Higher Committee of Online Learning in Kurdistan Region

Salah I. Yahya; MHE; KOU; Online LearningToday, 7th April 2020 at 7:00 pm, the Higher Committee-MHE of the Online Learing in Kurdistan Region had an important meeting about the implementation of the online learning in Kurdistan Universities and institutes. The committee members presented the e-infrastructures of their universities and their readiness to the online learning.

The meeting was directed by the D.G. Dr. Khattab Shekhany, Dr. Amanj Saeed, Senior consultant at the MHE, and the D.G. Dr. Mohammed Hussein Ahmed. It is expected that within the next few day some important decisions will be issued by the MHE-KRG concerning the online learning in Higher Education of Kurdistan. Prof. Salah I. Yahya is representing Koya University at the higher committee.



Salah I. Yahya; MHE; KOU; Online Learning



Koya University (KOU) is located in the city of Koya (Koy Sanjaq) which is 1.0 hr drive to the East of the Kurdistan Region capital Erbil (Arbil, Hewlér) in Kurdistan Region of F.R. Iraq. It is on the foothills of beautiful high mountain. Its campus has been carefully laid out to embrace the beautiful mountainous nature. . There are 4 Faculties and 2 Schools in KOU; Faculty of Engineering (FENG), Faculty of Science and Health (FSCH), Faculty of Education (FEDU), Faculty of Humanities and Social Silences (FHSS), Shcool of Physical Education (SPHE) and School of Medicine (SMED). Also, there are two research centers; Genome Center and Malai Gawra Center. Moreover, at KOU there is an English Language Center (BELC) at KOU has been opened with the sponsorship of IREX and American embassy in Baghdad as well as with the support of Spring International Language Center of The University of ArkansasKOU has two Scientific Journals; ARO-The Scientific Journal of Koya University, which is indexed by Clarivate Analytics (ESCI), and Koya University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences (KUJHSS). KOU is a proactive member of Erasmus/ Marhaba Project and Erasmus+. KOU signed many Memorandum of Understandings (MoU) with many International Universities, e.g., The University of Arkansas (June 2015). The Lulea University in Sweden (April 2014), The University of Nottingham in the UKThe University of Buckingham in the UK (Oct 2008), Belkin University in Turkey (Sep 2009) and The University of Greenwich in the UK.


Masters by a combination of research and coursework or by pure research in PhD level. (read more)

Knowledge Transfer is our main stream principal way to communicate in and outside our academic community (read more)

With 4 faculties and 25 departments in different fields we aiming to become a centre of excellence. Join us...