KOU Starts the Online Training Program with IREX, MHE-IRAQ and MHE-KRG

IREX; Koya UniversityToday, the preliminary session (virtual teatime) for the Iraqi Universities coordinators started the online E-Learning Professional Training Program that organized by IREX with the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research-IRAQ and the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research -KRG. The online training program will last till the first week of June 2020. The Koya University team is represented by:


Salah Ismaeel Yahya Faculty of Engineering Software Engineering (DSWE)
Saman Mirza Abdullah Faculty of Engineering Software Engineering (DSWE)
Manar Nazar Ahmad Faculty of Engineering Architecture Engineering (DARE)
Shaima Fadhil Hasan Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences English (DENG)
Ibrahim Abdulrahman Ahmed Faculty of Education English Language (DENL)
Zana Fattah Ali Faculty of Education Geography (DGEO)
Hana muhammad Smail Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences     English Language (DENG)
Shameran Jamal Salih Hammad faculty of Science and Health Chemistry (DCHM)
Jahfer Majeed Smail faculty of Science and Health Physics (DPHY)
Hedy Qasm Baez School of Physical Education Physical Education (SPHE)



IREX; Koya University




Koya University (KOU) is located in the city of Koya (Koy Sanjaq) which is 1.0 hr drive to the East of the Kurdistan Region capital Erbil (Arbil, Hewlér) in Kurdistan Region of F.R. Iraq. It is on the foothills of beautiful high mountain. Its campus has been carefully laid out to embrace the beautiful mountainous nature. . There are 4 Faculties and 2 Schools in KOU; Faculty of Engineering (FENG), Faculty of Science and Health (FSCH), Faculty of Education (FEDU), Faculty of Humanities and Social Silences (FHSS), Shcool of Physical Education (SPHE) and School of Medicine (SMED). Also, there are two research centers; Genome Center and Malai Gawra Center. Moreover, at KOU there is an English Language Center (BELC) at KOU has been opened with the sponsorship of IREX and American embassy in Baghdad as well as with the support of Spring International Language Center of The University of ArkansasKOU has two Scientific Journals; ARO-The Scientific Journal of Koya University, which is indexed by Clarivate Analytics (ESCI), and Koya University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences (KUJHSS). KOU is a proactive member of Erasmus/ Marhaba Project and Erasmus+. KOU signed many Memorandum of Understandings (MoU) with many International Universities, e.g., The University of Arkansas (June 2015). The Lulea University in Sweden (April 2014), The University of Nottingham in the UKThe University of Buckingham in the UK (Oct 2008), Belkin University in Turkey (Sep 2009) and The University of Greenwich in the UK.


Masters by a combination of research and coursework or by pure research in PhD level. (read more)

Knowledge Transfer is our main stream principal way to communicate in and outside our academic community (read more)

With 4 faculties and 25 departments in different fields we aiming to become a centre of excellence. Join us...