Koya University partcipates by its two delgates, V.P. Dr. Haidar Lashkry and Prof. Dr. Salah I. Yahya, the international hybrid conference on "Structural Reforms in Iraqi Higher Education: Quality Assurance & Implementation of Bologna Process" that is held in Baghdad, Babylon Rotana Hotel, on 9th -10th November 2021. The Conference is organized by the Dutch NGO SPARK in collaboration with Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research in Federal Iraq and Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research in KR-I, Apparatus of Supervision and Quality Assurance. The conference is sponsored by the Kingdom of the Netherlands. D.G. Dr. Mohammed Hussain, the Head of the Apparatus of Supervision and Quality Assurance, is representing the Ministry of Higher Education - Kurdistan Region of Iraq.



Salah I. Yahya; Haidar Lashkry; Koya University; SPARK



Koya University (KOU) is located in the city of Koya (Koy Sanjaq) which is 1.0 hr drive to the East of the Kurdistan Region capital Erbil (Arbil, Hewlér) in Kurdistan Region of F.R. Iraq. It is on the foothills of beautiful high mountain. Its campus has been carefully laid out to embrace the beautiful mountainous nature. . There are 4 Faculties and 2 Schools in KOU; Faculty of Engineering (FENG), Faculty of Science and Health (FSCH), Faculty of Education (FEDU), Faculty of Humanities and Social Silences (FHSS), Shcool of Physical Education (SPHE) and School of Medicine (SMED). Also, there are two research centers; Genome Center and Malai Gawra Center. Moreover, at KOU there is an English Language Center (BELC) at KOU has been opened with the sponsorship of IREX and American embassy in Baghdad as well as with the support of Spring International Language Center of The University of ArkansasKOU has two Scientific Journals; ARO-The Scientific Journal of Koya University, which is indexed by Clarivate Analytics (ESCI), and Koya University Journal of Humanities and Social Sciences (KUJHSS). KOU is a proactive member of Erasmus/ Marhaba Project and Erasmus+. KOU signed many Memorandum of Understandings (MoU) with many International Universities, e.g., The University of Arkansas (June 2015). The Lulea University in Sweden (April 2014), The University of Nottingham in the UKThe University of Buckingham in the UK (Oct 2008), Belkin University in Turkey (Sep 2009) and The University of Greenwich in the UK.

News Date
Koya University